What it means to be part of BBS | Prof. Marcello Russo’s welcome to Global MBA 2022-23 participants

19 September 2022

Professor Marcello Russo’s welcome greeting to Global MBA 2022-23 participants.

Dear Global MBA students,

Welcome to Bologna Business School. Welcome to Alma Mater Studiorum. From today, you are part of a growing and very ambitious business school strongly rooted in Italian history and excellence. In 21 years, BBS has achieved important goals, and now it is a key player in the international panorama. Among the several achievements, it is worth mentioning the recent EQUIS Accreditation and the partnership with iconic companies in our country and the entire world, like Ferrari, for whom we have been developing for three years, two Corporate MBAs reserved for their top talents.

I am at the fourth inaugural speech, and I have the same energy and emotion (some more grey hair, for sure!) as on the first day in 2019, when as a young Associate Professor, I met, precisely like you today, 50 students from five continents, full of hopes and willing to write with us an important, hopefully, life-changing chapter of their lives. We celebrated the Graduation Masterclass 2022 on September 9th and the Reunion with an exciting party we had missed in the last three years due to the pandemic. It was a great emotion to meet all the students on their diploma day and notice their pride and happiness. Even more exciting, it was for me to meet their relatives who landed in Bologna from different parts of the world. You could see the emotion in their eyes and the joy of celebrating such a meaningful achievement. Yes, obtaining an MBA is a big achievement that is still highly rewarding and important in the job market, as you probably know, being here today. 

What does it mean to be a student at the University of Bologna, at BBS?