[students’ journal] June 2017

15 June 2017

What is it like to be a student at BBS? Here is where they have their say on campus life, tips of Bologna, and much more. Written by and for the Students.

Read here the other posts published.

Expanding my knowledge

My name is Lindani Newman and I was born and raised in Harare, Zimbabwe. I am currently doing an MBA in Corporate Finance.

I studied Accounting and I have more than five years audit and finance experience, spanning across Information technology, retail and consultancy industries. I was the supervisor in charge of procurement and administration functions.

As a young manager in my organisation I wanted to equip myself for senior managerial positions by expanding my knowledge in finance, risk management, strategy and improve my entrepreneurial skills. So I decided to take the MBA, and got recommendations from my family members and alumni of Bologna Business School. Furthermore, I wanted a rich diverse and multicultural environment that would optimise my learning experience.

This has been a great year for me, very eye opening in so many ways. Personally I learnt a lot about myself as an individual; my strengths, my weaknesses and the things I need to improve. Academically, it was a game changer, the lectures and the learning experience were made as practical as possible hence making it easy to relate to and I can’t wait to go and put all I have learnt into practice.

BBS is one of the most multinational environments I have ever been in; it is a delight to experience. My highlights for the year include touring the different companies in and around Bologna like Lamborghini, PMI and IMA to mention a few. I also enjoyed touring the different cities in Italy and learning about the history of the different places of the country.