[students’ journal] July 2016

25 July 2016

What is it like to be a student at BBS? Here is where they have their say on campus life, tips of Bologna, and much more. Written by and for the Students.

Read here the other posts published.

Bologna, the first chapter of a new book

When I received the email confirming I was accepted to the Master in Human Resources and Organization at BBS, everything changed. I was just a few decisions away from letting the opportunity go, but a lot of questions came to my mind: What am I going to do on the other side of the world? Is it worth all the effort? Is it the best place to study? Would I fit in the culture, the program, the classmates, etc.?

Everybody said that being doubtful was a normal feeling, but I’ve never done something like this before in my life, and what I discovered stills makes me smile… and I’m pretty sure that this effect is going to remain for many years to come.

Coming to Italy has been one of the most interesting experiences that I’ve ever lived. Is it possible to discover a different culture, adapt to it, and have a new home in a few days? I did it. I started appreciating the people and the surroundings, and simultaneously, began appreciating my own culture, it was like living in two worlds at the same time. I was totally astonished by the campus on Villa Guastavilani from the first day, by many professors, by the class mates and by the real meaning of “multiculturality” in everything. Every day was a new challenge, from the daily personal activities to professional tasks.

After this experience I’m taking with me a great professional knowledge and skills, many people to admire, new great friends, the Italian culture and many tools to continue my career. I wouldn’t change this decision for anything, I am thankful for this opportunity, it was just great!

Andres Ruiz – Guatemala
Master in HR & Organization – class 2015/2016

July 15, 2016

Bologna, the first touch!